Completed Conky on Linux Ubuntu 7.04

Finally, I have everything I wanted on Conky. I had a chance to research and edit the .conkyrc file today. I just added the downstream / download and upstream / upload graph with the borders. I think that’s about it. But who knows, maybe tomorrow there’s a new feature to be added. But for now, it is complete.

On another note, I’ve been watching videos/episode/movies on tv-links. What I do is that I download the source first through wget and then play it on VLC. It’s more steps than what it should be but I don’t mind. Only bothersome when the broadband connection is slow. But other than that, it’s all good. Most videos/episodes I can view directly on the pop up window. I added Xchat for my mIRC needs. Although pidgin worked great but I wanted a separate program for that. I’m looking for a way to be able to use and view a webcam since Pidgin doesn’t support that. I also added Bluefish since I will be taking up a web authoring project soon. Haven’t tested it yet. Looks promising and the reviews are good.

My Sony Ericsson w810i was automatically detected by Ubuntu. Although the desktop icon looks an iPod, no big deal. I can download the pictures I’ve taken and add new songs. Very happy it works! My iPod is automatically detected as well. Haven’t tried changing the songs using Ubuntu though. But since Ubuntu mounts it on the desktop, that shouldn’t be a problem.

Great help from Ubuntu Forums. Here’s the .conkyrc code I used:

background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont HandelGotD:size=9
xftalpha 0.5
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
minimum_size 200 5
maximum_width 200
draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders yes
default_color white
default_shade_color red
default_outline_color green
alignment top_right
gap_x 12
gap_y 48
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 2
override_utf8_locale no

TEXT
$sysname $kernel on $machine

Uptime $alignr $uptime
Load $alignr $loadavg
Temp $alignr ${i2c 9191-0290 temp 1}C ${i2c 9191-0290 temp 2}C

Hostname $alignr $nodename
eth0 $alignr ${addr eth0}

CPU $alignr ${cpu cpu0}%
${cpubar cpu0}

MEM $alignc $mem / $memmax $alignr $memperc%
$membar

/root $alignc ${fs_used /} / ${fs_size /} $alignr ${fs_free_perc /}%
${fs_bar /}

/disk $alignc ${fs_used /media/disk} / ${fs_size /media/disk} $alignr ${fs_free_perc /media/disk}%
${fs_bar /media/disk}

swap $alignc $swap / $swapmax $alignr $swapperc%
${swapbar}

$processes processes ($running_processes running)

${color white}Highest CPU:
${color de0b0b}${top name 1}${top_mem cpu 1}
${color white}${top name 2}${top cpu 2}
${top name 3}${top cpu 3}
${top name 4}${top cpu 4}
${top name 5}${top cpu 5}

${color white}Highest MEM:
${color de0b0b}${top_mem name 1}${top_mem mem 1}
${color white}${top_mem name 2}${top_mem mem 2}
${top_mem name 3}${top_mem mem 3}
${top_mem name 4}${top_mem mem 4}
${top_mem name 5}${top_mem mem 5}

${color}Networking:
Down:${color} $alignr ${downspeed eth0} k/s${color} ${offset 80}
$alignc ${downspeedgraph eth0 32,150 de0b0b de0b0b}
Up:${color} $alignr ${upspeed eth0} k/s ${offset 80}
$alignc ${upspeedgraph eth0 32,150 de0b0b de0b0b}

Leave a Reply

