Hard Drive Cloning Project

I have a 40GB Maxtor drive which has Windows XP on it and an 80GB Hitachi which has Linux Ubuntu 7.04. On two occasions, the Maxtor drive was not detected by bios and I had to tinker with the IDE cable. I will be replacing the drive with an 80-160GB Seagate or Samsung today. I searched for a good and free cloning software and google led me to PCStats which reviewed commercial and free cloning software. I will be off to the store in a few hours to purchase a new hard drive. I’ll be buying a new IDE cable as well just in case the problem is with that. In the mean time, I am still searching for the best software to use to clone my dying(?) hard drive.

3 thoughts on “Hard Drive Cloning Project

Leave a Reply

