Compiz-Fusion On Another User Account

I wanted to experiment with themes without having to change what I already have on my simple and stable main account. The answer of course is adding another user account to mess around with. So I added one with the same rights as my main account and named it “first” since I expect I’ll be doing more as time passes.

The theme I chose is the Mac4Lin Project (by infra_red_dude) which transforms your desktop to look like a Mac. This is the first time I’ll be doing this and I was curious about how it would look like so I went ahead and jumped right into his thread here. He made it simple and very user friendly by adding and read me file and guide in every section that requires some form of installation. You don’t have to install everything. If you don’t have compiz, beryl or compiz fusion, he provides alternatives.

The main issue I ran into was that the desktop effect were not working on my new user account. I double checked the CompizConfig Settings Manager or CCSM to make sure I had everything right, which I did. So I asked around if I needed to reinstall Compiz-Fusion on another user account. Fortunately, I didn’t need to. I backtracked to the guide I used to install CF the first time. Luckily, I kept the link to that here. And I did these on the terminal:

gpg --keyserver subkeys.pgp.net --recv-keys 81836EBF

gpg --export --armor 81836EBF | sudo apt-key add -

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get upgrade

sudo apt-get install compiz compiz-gnome compizconfig-settings-manager compiz-fusion-plugins-extra compiz-fusion-plugins-unofficial libcompizconfig-backend-gconf

Hit Alt+F2 and entered “compiz –replace” and then on System>Preferences>Sessions and clicked “New”. For the name type “Compiz Fusion” and for the command typed “compiz –replace”.

And desktop effects were back! And then continued with the transformation. I tried very hard to look for a way to keep the bottom panel while using a dock but I was informed that it was not possible. So I dragged all my bottom panel icons to the top panel and got AWN to work with my Compiz Fusion. I was told before that AWN only worked with Beryl or Compiz but it seems that it is not the case.

I followed the instructions for installing AWN and on System>Preferences>Sessions and clicked “New”. For the name I typed “AWN” and the command “avant-window-navigator”. Works well with the desktop.

Leave a Reply

