Beginning Photography

I started experimenting with art when I was in grade school. Painting and sketching lessons during the summer. It was fun while I was at it. Unfortunately, cartoons kept grabbing my attention. As a kid, the choice between primary colors and Mighty Mouse was done in a nanosecond. The latter won of course. Towards the end of gradeschool and during much of highschool and college, I was into writing. Words were my red, yellow and blue. I am now exploring my interest in photography. I started feeling the fun for it when I got my Sony Ericsson w810i camera phone. It has a 2 megapixel camera with auto-focus. It takes good pictures. Better than our family’s old 3.1 megapixel Kodak camera.

I’m looking for an upgrade. An actual DSLR, that is. And in the choice between Canon and Nikon, I knew what I wanted from the beginning. I don’t know much about photography… yet. But I know that I want to learn with a Nikon camera. And then another choice, which model? I want something easy to carry around. I’ve narrowed them down to 2: D40 or D60. They are both lighter and less expensive than their brothers. I’ve been reading up on both of them. I still can’t decide. Which means I will need to read some more.

Leave a Reply

