Upgrading Linux Ubuntu: Gutsy Gibbon 7.10 to Hardy Heron 8.04

Currently waiting for the Update Manager do move my Linux installation another step to Hardy Heron 8.04. My request for CD’s from ShipIt have been approved but I have some free time and I can’t wait anymore. Gotta see what the chatter is all about. It has been a month and feedback from my fellow users in UbuntuForums more or less say that it’s safe to dive in. So here I go.

Internet speed is not at optimum at the moment since someone is playing an online game on the other PC. But I’m not in any hurry. Plenty of time to watch, wait and write. Estimated time to finish is in approximately 4 hours and 45 minutes. I think I should be able to catch a nap before any “Yes or No” dialog boxes come up.

There are a few things I’m concerned about. I wonder if my compiz-fusion and conky settings will be saved. Or any other setting for that matter. They’re supposed to be intact after an upgrade. I’ll know for sure once this is complete. I haven’t really done a full diagnostic on this since I installed Linux Ubuntu Feisty 7.04 last year. I have plenty of unallocated space in my hard drive and I’m thinking about trying out another Linux flavor. Which one is yet to be decided. For now, shuteye…

Leave a Reply

