Multimedia for Intrepid Ibex

So I had some trouble playing .avi files in my Ubuntu 8.10 box. I searched the handy dandy Ubuntu Forums and found what I was looking for. I went on to download and install the updates available. And then ran the following commands in the terminal.

sudo wget http://www.medibuntu.org/sources.list.d/intrepid.list -O /etc/apt/sources.list.d/medibuntu.list

wget -q http://packages.medibuntu.org/medibuntu-key.gpg -O- | sudo apt-key add - && sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get remove gnash gnash-common libflashsupport mozilla-plugin-gnash swfdec-mozilla && sudo apt-get install alsa-oss faac faad flashplugin-nonfree gstreamer0.10-ffmpeg gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad-multiverse gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly-multiverse gstreamer0.10-pitfdll libavcodec-unstripped-51 libmp3lame0 non-free-codecs sun-java6-fonts sun-java6-jre sun-java6-plugin unrar

These commands got my files playing again. I’ve only tried a .avi file though. In the future, I might get a chance to play other file types. But I’m pretty sure that I won’t have any issues. In case I do, I can always check the forums for solutions.

Multimedia for Intrepid Ibex

Leave a Reply

