2012 Project: Installing Android On Nokia N900

A month ago, the warranty for my Nokia N900 expired. That was the only thing I was worried about when I first considered trying out Android on my phone. Not that I needed it, since it has been over a year and it’s still working fine. I love the hardware. But when Nokia announce that it was halting support for the Maemo Mobile OS, I wanted to try another system that came with updates and a better app market.

Like with any project, whether academic or otherwise, you start by doing a basic search. I came up with a couple of possibilities. There were several how-to’s that gave instructions for installing Nitdroid or Gingerbread. I was actually hoping for Ice Cream Sandwich but apparently that was sort of like aiming for the moon. At this point, that is. What was not encouraging to me was the number of failed attempts that resulted in the phone owners going back to their original Maemo and the lack of recent attempts or updates. Majority of the posts on the subject were dated early last year. I know from experience that a lot can and have changed in a year. So that is my dilemma.

I think all of the articles I found mentioned the need to use a Micro SD. There were other issues that came up such as the phone not charging during or after the installation. The quick fix that they gave was to use the USB charger instead. It’s not a big deal. But it is a concern when the hardware does not work as it is supposed to. Especially when it’s a component as basic and important as power.

It looks like there is a lot more research waiting for me. I don’t mind taking the long road as long as it’s the surest one. But if I do brick my N900 and end up unable to resurrect it, I have my eye on the Motorola Droid 4. Check back in the future for updates.

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “2012 Project: Installing Android On Nokia N900

  1. I am also waiting for a fully functoning android ( Nitdroid ) version.
    Now considering MeeGo ( Nemo Mobile )

    Let me know if you have any luck.
    I wil do the same.

      • I would use my N900 everyday as my main phone, however the ONE big problem is I need a phone with 100% fully working Remote Sim, not just phone numbers, but I need names as well, this is a must have for me in the car.

      • I do use it everyday as my main phone. It works well enough and there’s not a lot of phones out there with a 32GB internal memory. With that much space, it would be nice to dual boot it eventually. What I really like about Android is its app market.

Leave a Reply

