An Exercise In Creativity: WordPress & WordPress Themes

Next week, I will be attending a forum about WordPress and WordPress Themes. I expect the topics to be about template editing and the actual creation with the technical details. I also expect the discussions to include snippets about good design concepts and acceptable practices when it comes to the theme world.

I’ve long been trying to find the right theme for this blog. I change it every now and then when I feel like there is something better out there. To be honest, so far I have only tried the free available themes from WordPress. There are a lot of good ones out there but I am primarily after a clean and lean looking page. Something that is easy on the eyes and quick to navigate. Tiled themes have caught my attention but they do not look right when I do the live preview. I have the luxury of being able to sit with what I have and just wait.

So this coming even will be useful for me. Instead of waiting for the perfect theme to fall onto my lap while looking around, I can just make one for myself. I will find out during the lecture and share what I learn on here. Think of this as a heads up post. I am not promising an epic how-to about the subject because I will be a novice at it myself. I have only tried minimal tweaks back when it was still allowed without the upgrade.

I will be bringing my laptop and my handy dandy notebook. There is a small chance that I will be blogging (or drafting) while it is taking place. It depends on how fast the instructors dish out information and the speed of my typing. We shall see. But there will be another post after this with a lot of details. Hopefully, I will be able to share some things that will be useful for someone.

I will keep you guys posted.

Leave a Reply

