Sony Vaio Motion Eye Camera Troubleshooting Update

I’ve noticed that a lot of people still read my post about this. It has been a few years since I first put it up but I guess Sony Vaio laptops are hard to let go. I can understand that since I still have mine and do use it occasionally.

The hardware and OS are still the same. I have a Sony Vaio VGN-CR35G that is running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. To get the camera working, I did the following:

  1. Download two files: camera driver and extractor.
  2. Install the extractor. Run it and point it to the executable driver installer.
  3. Open the folder where the files were extracted to and double-click on the installer.

I used the 64 bit version since that is what I have. There wasn’t any notification or dialog box saying that it was done when I ran it. Test it by opening your video chat application and just try it out.

Thank you for visiting and I hope this still works like it did for me a long time ago. Drop me a note if you have any comments, suggestions or questions. I’m still around.

Leave a Reply

